Saskatchewan.—Saskatchewan has ten Provincial Parks with a total area of about 1,600 sq. miles. Cypress Hills, Duck Mountain, Greenwater Lake, Moose Mountain, and Valley Centre are operated as summer resorts with chalet, lodge, cabin and trailer accommodation, and camping and picnic facilities. Recreational activities include fishing, boating, swimming, golf, tennis, dancing, baseball, hiking, horseback riding, etc., and the parks are all well fitted with playground and beach equipment for children. In Cypress Hills Park, elk, antelope, deer and beaver are plentiful and brook and other trout abound in the streams and lakes. Heavy stands of tall, straight lodgepole pine provide forest cover in this area. In Duck Mountain, Moose Mountain and Greenwater Lake Parks, moose, elk, deer, bear and beaver are common as well as several varieties of grouse. Spruce, poplar and white birch provide excellent cover for wildlife. Pickerel, pike and perch are prevalent in the lakes.

Alberta.—In Alberta, 31 Provincial Parks have been established by Order in Council of which 25 are being extensively developed at the present time. The Cypress Hills Provincial Park, covering an area of over 77 sq. miles, is the largest of these parks and is situated in the southeast portion of the Province. The other parks under development are: Aspen Beach, Beauvais Lake, Crimson Lake, Cross Lake, Dillberry Lake, Garner Lake, Gooseberry Lake, Kinbrook Island, Lac Cardinal, Little Bow, Ma-Me-O Beach, Park Lake, Pembina River, Red Lodge, Rochon Sands, Saskatoon Island, Steveville Dinosaur, Sylvan Lake, Taber, Vermilion, Wabamun Lake, Winagami Beach, Woolford and Writing-on-Stone. Pienie facilities, playground equipment and camping areas are provided in these parks which are maintained primarily for the recreation and enjoyment of Alberta residents.

British Columbia.—There are 112 Provincial Parks in British Columbia with a total area of about 12,706 sq. miles. These parks are classified A, B, C and Special. Class A Parks are those considered most highly for immediate recreational development and are strongly protected. Class B Parks are areas slated for development—valuable wilderness areas or places set aside for a specific reason. Class C Parks are intended primarily for the use of local residents and are usually under Board management. Special Parks, of which only one remains, were created in the past by Special Acts of the Legislature. The parks are in all stages of development and dedicated to a variety of recreational uses. There are immense wilderness areas such as Tweedsmuir and Wells Gray Parks and outstanding scenic and mountain places which include Garibaldi, Mount Robson and E. C. Manning Parks. Thousands of city dwellers throng to the ski slopes of Mount Seymour or picnic at Cultus Lake Park. The formal gardens of Peace Arch are a monument to the goodwill between Canada and the United States. Vancouver Island has a chain of small forest parks that have achieved a tremendous popularity with tourists—the best known are Little Qualicum Falls and Miracle Beach. In addition there is a campsite system closely integrated with the Provincial Parks, many campsites actually being located in the parks.

## Subsection 4.—The National Capital Plan

Ottawa, the city selected by Queen Victoria in 1857 to be the permanent seat of the legislature of the united provinces of Upper and Lower Canada, was designated the National Capital of the Dominion upon Confederation in 1867. The community grew out of the military and construction camp which served as headquarters for the building of the Rideau Canal—a military project carried out between 1826 and 1832 which utilized the Rideau and Cataraqui Rivers to link Kingston on the St. Lawrence River and Lake Ontario with the Ottawa River thus providing a safe interior military waterway between Lake Ontario and Montreal by bypassing the vulnerable international section of the St. Lawrence River. Originally known as Bytown, after Col. John By, R.E., builder of the canal, the settlement prospered with the development of the lumber trade. The Act of Incorporation, changing Bytown to the City of Ottawa, was proclaimed on Jan. 1, 1855.

The city, situated in an area of great natural beauty, has remained a self-governing municipality and, although throughout the years the Federal Government co-operated with the municipal authorities in the development of a system of driveways and parks,